To Accumulate a Rate — Integrate!

Teaching High School Mathematics

Magformers… more than meets the eye. (say like transformers theme song)

We got my son Gabe a set of Magformers for his 5th birthday.
I played with them for awhile with him, helping him to make the vehicle ideas in the package.

Then when he was done it was my turn…

20120915-083618.jpg

Then I grabbed the hexagons and slowly pulled it up until…

20120915-083710.jpg

I’ve got to get “him” some more of these. 🙂

I was thinking there are some great activities you could use these for in Geometry.
Especially since you can make the net and then pull it up into the solid.
Here’s a link to a set I’m thinking about.

3 comments on “Magformers… more than meets the eye. (say like transformers theme song)

  1. Fawn Nguyen
    September 15, 2012

    Oh, I do think ‘Gabe’ needs more of these!! Such a cool toy. Think my principal would buy this for our geometry class?! I want!

  2. kaleb40
    September 15, 2012

    Buy a small set so you can show them hands on how you will use them. I think you have a chance.

  3. crazedmummy
    September 15, 2012

    Oh, like trainsets. (my dad had 3 girls. He finally gave up, and “we” had a trainset…)
    Dang! these are expensive – yes, I went immediately to Amazon! No wonder you had to justify it as “present.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2012 by in geometry, ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
