To Accumulate a Rate — Integrate!

Teaching High School Mathematics

Genius Mistake

20140222-110235.jpg

So apparently a mistake by a genius makes them even more of a genius. I’ll definitely be using this quote in class the next time I make a mistake.
This Scientific American arcticle is an interesting article about one of Davinci’s drawings.

20140222-105632.jpg

Davinci drew this star strapped rhombioctahedron which is very cool, however he drew some square pyramids where some triangular pyramids should be and vise-versa. I was inspired to create the same figure with paper and looked online for a net to cut out. I couldn’t find one, so I found a net for a square pyramid and made some adjustments. Then I printed out the pieces and got to work.

20140222-105900.jpg

I tried to attach all the parts first, but it was quite difficult to picture and things started to overlap. So, I just built most of the solid one pyramid at a time. The finished product moves around a bit. If I created this again I would make a rhombioctahedron first and then add the pyramids.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
