To Accumulate a Rate — Integrate!

Teaching High School Mathematics

Math Posters

This is not a post about all the math teachers posting about math. This is about making math posters to hang in my class. I’ve been seeing some math posters that people made on their blogs and thought, I should make some myself. I need a little motivation to spend some time on them, but I figured that if I post this then I’ll look back and see that I posted this and remember to get my butt in gear. I just read Julie’s post at I speak Math and I like this one called Fail.

3 comments on “Math Posters

  1. bstockus
    August 30, 2012

    Are you thinking of making posters yourself and then hanging them? Or are you thinking of creating the posters with students as an artifact of their learning? If you hadn’t considered it yet, I highly encourage the latter. I can’t tell you how many posters I bought or made my first few years of teaching, and how little any of my students noticed them. It bummed me out! However, when I started making posters as part of a lesson and hanging them up afterwards, they became great reference points. They were noticed more frequently by students because they had the concrete experience of constructing them. Whatever you decide to do, best of luck and I look forward to seeing pictures of the final products. 🙂

    • kaleb40
      August 31, 2012

      That’s a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

  2. loukas
    September 3, 2012

    Last time I had a classroom, my students teased me about the bare white walls. Last year I floated, so it wasn’t as muc of an issue, but this room I have a big room with big blank walls. To help full the space, I found some quotes I liked and made them into quick posters using the district machine. I hope the students and I will come up with more during the year, but it is a start.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2012 by in ideas and tagged , , , , , .
